2 years before smiling

Is this strange? But I may have mentioned this in one of my earlier blog post. I run regularly in my neighborhood and when I first started, I’m not sure why, but I don’t really dare to make eye contact with anyone. Slowly I’ve started to enjoy my jogging routine, including the nature as well as looking at the joggers around me. If I happen to make eye contact with someone, sometimes I’ll smile. I think one particular lady started smiling and saying hi to me and it may have changed me for the better. That’s how I started smiling at random strangers when I jog sometimes.

There is this particular guy, I think we may have ran past each other for almost 2 years now. For 2 years, he kept looking at me when we jog past each other, but we never smiled. It was pretty awkward I must say. Then in April, I started breaking the ice by smiling whenever he passes by. The first time I did that, I think he was shocked. Maybe he wasn’t expecting it. He didn’t smile back. The second time we met again while jogging, he started to warm up and gave me a awkward smile. Then we did not meet for more than a month as I was away.

Yesterday, I saw him again while jogging. He passed by me and this time round, he smiled at me. That was really nice. I smiled back. It took us 2 whole years to start smiling at each other. Isn’t that funny?

Now I wonder what will be next. Will we ever be able to say hi eventually? That would be nice.

Leave a Reply

