I’ve got nothing to prove to anyone

“You alone are enough. You have nothing to prove to anybody.” ~ Maya Angelou

This is my favorite phrase lately…So grounding, yet so impactful once you really digested it. The only other person that I hear it from lately is Sean. And when I heard that, I felt that we were on the same spiritual plane.

Does this relevation of “I’ve got nothing to prove to anyone” only happens when an individual has enough suffering that finally brings an awakening? Because, only a truly awakened being would be able to feel that sentence deeply enough to finally understand that each walks their own path.

As I grow wiser and has time to reflect on life, I feel more relaxed being myself.

Lately I met with a supplier and with strangers, I always hide my real occupation as I did not want to answer stupid questions. This was the first time that I did not hide my real occupation. I also did not hide the fact that I worked from home. But I wished people asked more “why” questions. Because it is the “why” questions that would allow the person to tell you their stories deep within.

I hate questions like, “Are you a full timer or part timer”?

When you think deeper into this question, what are you really trying to ask? If the person is competent and executes a high level of proficiency in that particular trade, does it matter if she was a full timer or part timer? So, what are you really trying to ask here?

I hate questions like “How much money can you make from doing this?”

So, what are you really trying to ask here? Are you trying to determine if the pay is high enough for your standards before considering this trade? If salary scale is something that is important to you, you should make a list of the top 10 high salary jobs, and then work to get yourself into one of those jobs.

I’m not really sure where I’m going with this post, but I wished people think more deeply about the questions that they want to ask before asking.

 

Leave a Reply

